Where to begin

Writing a blog has been something that I have wanted to do for years. The idea of sharing and documenting my interests is always there at the back of my mind but I have always been too afraid to get on with it.  Let me tell you, the fear is REAL!!!

My main problem? How the hell do you start something like this? I can’t jump straight into it or surely everything would be nonsensical. These thoughts and unnecessary pressures have always made me give up before I have ever begun. But now coming into 2017 with my mid twenties crisis looming, I’ve realised its now or never. I want to do this and I want to do this for me, so I have to stop caring what others think and just get on with it.
With that said…. Welcome to Betty’s Ktichen!!!

The idea behind this is to help me stay on track with my personal goals for 2017. If I entertain and inspire in any way along the journey then that’s great, but really this is to push me to stop being lazy and change my ways and fast!!!

blog-image-1

Have more fun…I spend lot of my time over thinking things, unnecessarily worrying and ultimately stressing myself out for no reason whatsoever. I now think enough is enough, I’m 27 this year and it’s time to start having fun. I can’t bare the thought of in 15 years time I will regret taking life so seriously whilst I didn’t have many commitments. I’m going to try and say yes to more things, chill out, go on adventures and spend time with people who make me laugh so much I cry.

Get back into drawing…I graduated from my textile design course almost 3 years ago and I can count on one hand how many times I have picked up a pencil since then. I was in my element every time I was creative and for some reason I have quit altogether which I regret yet never do anything about. 2017 I will be easing myself back into it and trying to remember why I fell so head over heels in love with print design. My dream was to always run my own design company, well that’s never going to happen unless I do something.

Lose weight…Pretty self explanatory. Im not getting any younger and it’s really time I start taking an interest in what I put in my body.  I love cooking and I’m going to spend this year trying new recipes and creating my own to post on this blog. I will hopefully be documenting my progress and journey but this may just be on my Instagram. Undecided on that so let’s see what happens in a few months.

Do something new every month…2016 saw me doing quite a lot of nothing. This year I want to do new things, learn new skills, meet more people. I really want to see more of the U.K. and more of Europe. I love adventures and I think that doing something new every month will be a good way for me to have more fun.

Stop eating meat… Every time I travel between my boyfriends house and work I get stuck behind Lorraine’s carrying livestock to the abattoir, I unintentionally manage to make eye contact with an animal EVERY TIME, and it bloody breaks my heart. I LOVE the taste of meat (hate the texture of it) but the guilt is too much. I’m going to have some fun turning my favourite dishes into guilt free versions and ease my guilty conscience along the way.

Photography… I want to get my cameras out and take them on said adventures, I want to document my year and I’m a visual person. What’s the point in having beautiful camera if they are just gathering dust?

Read 15 books…I love to read, I love getting lost in stories. This year I am going to make some time to complete this goal, I may not reach 15 but I’ll give it a good damn try

Watch 25 Films…This ones really for the boyfriend. He loves films his whole life is films. Me, I just fall asleep in films. Let’s give it a go to keep him happy.

Finances…Again self explanatory. I spend money I don’t have on things I don’t need. I never know what’s coming in or going out. I’m an adult now.lets get that control back!!!

Learn to like myself…in the famous words of  RuPaul, “if you can’t love yourself, how in the hell you gonna love somebody else?”. I wouldn’t dream of talking to anybody the way I talk to myself sometimes, so why do I do it? Skincare, hair care and health and fitness comes into this as well, I have to look after myself.  Hopefully this journey will make me realise some good things about myself along the way.

So here we are!!! Expect to see recipes, adventures, possible book and film reviews, restraunt reviews, some of my sketchbooks and designs amongst many other things. This will be a journal of my year trying to have more fun and enjoying the small things in life. Bear with me as this is all new, but this is going to be a good year!

One Comment Add yours

  1. Raviera Palmero says:

    This is a gonna be a sick year, Lizzzzzzie. 😀
    Raviera.
    x

    Like

Leave a Reply

